Dell Inspiron 15 7537 review

In a world where the prevailing industrial design trend is to make laptops increasingly thinner without forcing the user to accept compromises in configuration or performance, Dell Inspiron 15 7537 emerges as a viable option for computing purposes. It lays emphasis on stability and quality as well as portability and wins bonus points mainly for its high-quality casing. The casing looks cool and solid! Except for the base plate, almost the entire laptop is made of aluminum metal with options for connecting additional peripherals viz. 4 USB ports. The underside can be easily open to a large extent by removing four screws. A characteristic feature here is that the heat sink and fan can be easily cleaned without disassembling the laptop further. This can help in easy cleaning of the machine, to prevent it from suffering high hardware temperatures thereby posing a threat of failure under harsh conditions of the surrounding. The hinges look solid too. Dell Inspiron 15 7537 is a touchscreen laptop. The screen is covered with resistant Corning Gorilla Glass that protects it from minor scratches. I did however prefer to use an additional screen guard for it. The silver-gray chiclet keyboard renders a typing feeling that doesn’t convince a user much. The support of various multi-touch gestures with up to 4 fingers makes the navigation process somewhat simple. The presence of a Numeric Pad however makes me turn my right wrist a bit more than I would have preferred. For some reason, I even find the Delete key oddly placed. I use it very often, but end up pressing the PgUp key. Maybe with time, I will get used to the position of the Delete key. I also find the Enter key a bit small for my liking. I also found the backlit keyboard of my earlier XPS brighter for my taste. The back-lit keys here are not uniformly lit especially my 4($) and 5(%) keys, During my leisure time with it, I found the laptop remains pretty quiet even when handling onerous tasks like watching videos. The cooling sometimes stops completely, which results in an absolutely silent system. Users having an appetite for multimedia should find the Windows touchscreen laptop worth trying. The battery is strong and can afford good hours of surfing. You may expect a battery life of around 4-5 hours on the Dell Inspiron 15 7537. A dedicated NVidia GeForce GT 750M card offers a lifelike gaming experience to game lovers. The company has earned appreciation from many quarters for deciding to install the faster GDDR5 version of the GT 750M. In short, GeForce GT 750M fulfills the requirements for strong gaming performance. It also comes very close to the Radeon HD 8870M. I was pleasantly surprised to see that it did not come with any trialware or crapware installed. Sure there was an eBay weblink desktop icon, but that was about it all! So I did not really need to ‘exorcise’ my new laptop. On getting the new laptop home, I did a few things: Problems I faced with the laptop:

I will blog about the first three issues in a couple of days – on how I resolved them. Screenshots Gallery

Dell Inspiron 15 7537 specs

If you are looking for a sleek, smart-looking power-packed machine, and have a flexible budget, go for it.

Dell Inspiron 15 7537 price

I got this Dell Inspiron 15 7537 Ultrabook, with a free LG GP50 DVD Writer, Dell Wireless Mouse and screen guard for INR 83,000/-. This works out to around USD 1380 – but the actual price may vary in your country. Any owner wanting to share his experience with this laptop is most welcome to do it by writing in the comments section below.